SSC GD eligibility: age limit, relaxation, fee and qualification
Read from Staff Selection Commission's own notice: Notice of Constable (GD) in CAPFs and SSF, and Rifleman (GD) in Assam Rifles Examination, 2026 (F. No. HQ-C-3007/10/2025-C-3), dated 1 Dec 2025. Shishya read it on 26 Oct 2026. Open the official notice.
GD 2026 notice (published Dec 2025). The 2027 notice was not out on 26 Oct 2026. A newer notice can change any of this — confirm on ssc.gov.in before you apply.
Am I eligible for SSC GD?
Type your date of birth, category and qualification. The answer is as per the notice dated 1 Dec 2025.
The check runs on your device — nothing you type is sent or stored. It reads only what each official notice says; always confirm on the official site before you apply. Ex-servicemen, government employees, widows and other special relaxations are listed on each exam's page, not in this check. Your first result is free without an account; sign up free to keep using it.
Age limit and qualification by post
18 to 23 years on 1 Jan 2026 for General Age is counted on 1 Jan 2026.
| Post | Age (General) | Qualification |
|---|---|---|
| Constable (GD) in BSF, CISF, CRPF, ITBP, SSB, SSF and Rifleman (GD) in Assam Rifles | Born 2 Jan 2003 to 1 Jan 2008 (18-23) | Matriculation/Class 10 pass from a recognised board or university by 01-01-2026; result must be declared by then.Must be passed already. |
Age relaxation by category
OBC +3, SC/ST +5 years
| Category | Years added | With a disability (PwBD) |
|---|---|---|
| General (UR) | None | Not stated |
| EWS | None stated | Not stated |
| OBC (non-creamy layer) | +3 | Not stated |
| SC | +5 | Not stated |
| ST | +5 | Not stated |
- Ex-servicemen: 3 years after deducting military service from actual age on the reckoning date.
- Children/dependents of victims killed in the 1984 riots: 5 years (UR/EWS), 8 years (OBC), 10 years (SC/ST).
- No EWS age relaxation and no PwBD category mentioned in the notice.
- Age relaxation/reservation not available to children/dependents of ex-servicemen.
Application fee
- ₹100: General (UR), OBC and EWS men
- ₹0: Women, SC, ST and ex-servicemen eligible for reservation
Online payment only, by 01.01.2026 (23:00).
Other conditions in the notice
- Indian citizens only; domicile/permanent residence certificate of the state/UT chosen in the form is required (vacancies are state/UT-wise; SSF all-India).
- Born not before 02-01-2003 and not later than 01-01-2008.
- PET race: men 5 km in 24 min, women 1.6 km in 8½ min (fraction glyph garbled in PDF text; verify) (Ladakh region: men 1.6 km in 7 min, women 800 m in 5 min).
- PST height: men 170 cm, women 157 cm, with relaxed heights for ST, NE, LWE districts, hill groups etc.; chest for men as per notice.
- 10% vacancies earmarked for ex-servicemen; ESM exempt from PET but must do measurements and medical.
Questions
What is the age limit for SSC GD?
18 to 23 years on 1 Jan 2026 for General, as per the notice dated 1 Dec 2025 (Staff Selection Commission). Confirm on https://ssc.gov.in.
What age relaxation does SSC GD give?
OBC +3, SC/ST +5 years, as per the notice dated 1 Dec 2025. Confirm on https://ssc.gov.in.
What is the SSC GD application fee?
₹100: General (UR), OBC and EWS men; ₹0: Women, SC, ST and ex-servicemen eligible for reservation (as per the notice dated 1 Dec 2025).
What qualification is needed for SSC GD?
Constable (GD) in BSF, CISF, CRPF, ITBP, SSB, SSF and Rifleman (GD) in Assam Rifles: Matriculation/Class 10 pass from a recognised board or university by 01-01-2026; result must be declared by then. (as per the notice dated 1 Dec 2025).
SSC GD hub: dates, pattern, free mocks →
Check every exam at once: Am I eligible? →
These facts are paraphrased from the official notice linked above, read with AI help; the notice is the final word. Ex-servicemen, government employees, widows and other special relaxations are listed in the notes above, not in the check.